## **Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers**

## 26<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting September 22-24, 2002

Harding University in Searcy

## Monday, September 23, 2002

President Diane Newton convened the twenty-sixth annual meeting of the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers (AACUBO) at the Hammon Student Center on the campus of Harding University in Searcy. Those in attendance included 120 business officers and associates and 3 lifetime members. The attendees represented 38 colleges, universities and other state agencies.

President Newton who introduced Mel Sansom, Vice President and CFO of Harding University began the opening session. Mr. Sansom welcomed everyone to the Harding campus.

Cindra Stiff of Kentucky Weslyan College who spoke on her experiences with "Disaster Recovery" made the first presentation on Monday. Next on the day's agenda was a presentation by Steve Madigan from Rebsamen Insurance who spoke on the topic of "Coping with Today's Insurance Market." During lunch there was a report made by President Newton and Vice President Goswick about their visitations to member campuses. Lunch was then followed by a concurrent session with a choice between attending Jennus Burton & David Martinson's report of the Efficiency & Effectiveness Committee or hearing a presentation for private schools made by Kearney Dietz on the topic of "Saving Money through Collaboration." The afternoon ended with another concurrent session being offered with the choice of topics being "New Travel Regulations; P-Card" (presented by the Office of State Purchasing) or "Debt Financing & Ratio Analysis" (presented by Susan Fitzgerald of Moody's Investors).

At Monday evening's reception, AACUBO members were entertained by piano music played by Dr. Scott Carroll of Harding University. The dinner began with a performance by two Harding University students of their native dance from the country of Panama. During the dinner, those in attendance had the opportunity to hear a presentation given by the SACUBO president, Dr. David Bosserman, and the SACUBO 1<sup>st</sup> Vice-President, Gaye Manning. Also, Byron Rowan was announced to be this year's recipient of a Lifetime Membership Award.

## Tuesday, September 24, 2002

The first session on day two was a panel discussion by Pat Gustavson, Charles Hathaway, Ed Coulter and Mark Davis on "The Role of the CFO." After a short break, Gary Stenz, from Bank of America, followed with a program on Institutional Investing.

At 11:45 a.m., President Newton called the annual business meeting to order. The minutes from the last meeting were presented and a motion was made by David Martinson and seconded by Tom Dorre to accept the minutes. The treasurer's report for December 10, 2001 was then presented and a motion was made by Ron Jenkins, with a second by David Martinson to approve this report. This motion carried.

The Site Selection Committee, chaired by Russ Hannah, made the recommendation that an invitation from the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith be accepted for the annual meeting for 2003. Russ Hannah made the motion to accept this invitation, and Gaye Manning seconded it. The motion was carried.

The Nominating Committee, chaired by Bobby Jones, presented the following slate of officers and directors:

President: Barbara Goswick, UA System
President-Elect: Todd Sheldon, Harding University

Secretary-Treasurer: Russ Hannah, ASU

2001-03 Directors: Roger Coomer, OTC

Mark Davis, UAM

2002-04 Directors: Ron Jenkins, UACCB

Eric Davis, Ouachita Baptist University

After no further nominations from the floor, Tom Dorre moved to accept the slate of officers and was seconded by Pat Gustavson. The motion carried.

The Resolution Committee, composed of chair Mark Davis, Debbie Gasaway, and Tom Dorre, offered the following resolutions:

- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its grateful appreciation to the administration and staff of Harding University in Searcy for hosting the twenty-sixth annual meeting of the Association and providing excellent accommodations and arrangements.
- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its grateful appreciation to President Diane Newton for her leadership and to all of the 2001-2002 officers and directors for their service to the Association.

- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University
  Business Officers extends its grateful appreciation to the following persons for
  their excellent presentations at the 2002 meeting: Cindra Stiff, Steve Madigan,
  Jennus Burton, David Martinson, Kearney Dietz, Tim Smith, Gerald Congleton,
  Susan Fitzgerald, David Bosserman, Gaye Manning, Pat Gustavson, Charles
  Hathaway, Ed Coulter, Mark Davis, and Gary Stenz.
- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its grateful appreciation to the following corporate sponsors of the 2002 meeting:

Super-Platinum: Aramark Food Services

Steelman, Connell, Moseley, Architects P.A.

Platinum: Aramark Service Master

Bank of America

Educational Systems Products FACTS Tuition Management

• Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its appreciation to the two Harding University students from Panama, Ingrid and Nestor, for providing excellent entertainment at the Monday evening banquet.

The motion to accept these resolutions was made by Ed Kremers and seconded by Russ Hannah. The motion carried.

Members were then informed about the following:

- ✓ AACUBO web page to be hosted by UALR
- ✓ Officers visitation of campuses was a success
- ✓ We will co-sponsor a drive-in workshop in Arkansas with SACUBO in April/May
- ✓ Request was made for members to provide information to Barbara Goswick for SACUBO Newsletter
- ✓ Reminder was made about CPE credit sponsored by ASU
- ✓ Members were asked to encourage participation from schools not in attendance this year

President Newton adjourned the meeting, but Barbara Goswick stepped forward to make a presentation of a plaque of appreciation for outgoing President Newton for her two years of service.