Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers

Hosted by
Phillips Community College
Of the University of Arkansas
Helena, Arkansas

MINUTES

Monday, September 25, 2000

The twenty-fourth annual meeting of the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers (AACUBO) was convened by President Bobby Jones at the Fine Arts Center on the campus of Phillips Community College at 9:00 a.m. There were 110 current and former business officers and associates representing college, universities and other state agencies that attended the meeting.

President Jones introduced Dr. Steven Jones, Chancellor of Phillips Community College, who welcomed AACUBO attendees to Helena and the Phillips Community College campus. He also entertained the group with his "Top Ten Things to Know About Being a College Business Officer."

President Jones introduced the officers and board members for the 1999-2000 year. He then introduced Secretary-Treasurer Jay Jones, who gave a preview of the annual meeting program. The assembly then split into the concurrent sessions.

President Jones announced committee appointments:

Nominating Resolutions Site Selection

Diane Newton, Chair Linda Birkner, Chair Susan Marshall, Chair

Alan Davis Jerald Barber Mark Davis J. W. Mason Loretta Williams Kaye Burley

President Jones announced Wendy Crawford of Mid-South Community College as the professional development scholarship winner. She will receive \$500.00 to help fund attendance at workshops or professional development during the year.

Tuesday, September 26, 2000

The Tuesday morning session was held at the Fine Arts Center of Phillips Community College.

The assembly convened for an entertaining and motivational session by Dr. Dale Henry.

At 11:30 a.m., President Jones called the business meeting to order. Minutes of the last meeting of the Association were presented. A motion was made to accept the minutes by Jerry Carlisle and seconded by Todd Sheldon. The motion carried. The financial report was presented with a motion to accept by Paul McLendon, seconded by David Martinson. The motion carried.

The Nominating Committee, chaired by Barbara Goswick, presented the slate of officers and directors:

Officers 2000-2001

President: Diane Newton, UALR

President-Elect: Jay Jones, Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas

Secretary-Treasurer: Barbara Goswick, University of Central Arkansas

Directors:

1999-2001 Jerry Carlisle, Arkansas State University, Beebe

Todd Sheldon, Harding University

2001-2003 Russ Hannah, Arkansas State University, Jonesboro

Lisa Franklin, Henderson State University

After no further nominations from the floor, J. W. Mason moved to accept the slate of officers; Tom Dorre seconded the motion. The motion carried.

The Resolution Committee, chaired by Todd Sheldon, presented the following:

- 1. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its appreciation to the Phillips Community College of the U of A at Helena for hosting the twenty-fourth annual meeting and providing superb accommodations and arrangements.
- 2. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its special appreciation to Jay Jones, Judy Abels, Karyn Weaver, Pat Delk and Stephanie Arnold for their efforts in arranging this meeting.
- 3. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its gratitude to President Bobby Jones for his leadership and service to the association.
- 4. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its special thanks to Dr. Dale Henry for his motivational presentation.
- 5. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its special appreciation to Bert Harding for his presentation on "Tax Issues."
- 6. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its special appreciation to Greg Thornburg for his presentation on "Title IV Student Refunds."
- 7. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its special appreciation to Jerry Barker for his presentation on "Web Pages for Business Officers."
- 8. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its special appreciation to Rita Fleming and Monroe Carlton for their presentation on "State Revenue Appropriations."

- 9. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its special appreciation to Jennus Burton for the update on the Administrative Efficiency and Improvement Committee.
- 10. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its special appreciation to Doris Foley and Phillips Community College Food Services staff for all the meals.
- 11. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its special appreciation to the cast and producers of "Greater Tuna" for Monday evening's entertainment.
- 12. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its special appreciation to the following sponsors:

Platinum:

Educational Systems Products AT&T Southwestern Bell

Gold:

First National Bank – Phillips County Helena National Bank Union Planters Bank Steelman Connell Moseley Architects VALIC Chartwells Follett Bookstores Entergy

Silver:

Bank of the Ozarks

The motion to accept the resolution was made by Todd Sheldon and seconded by Diane Newton. The motion carried.

President Jones turned the Association leadership over to incoming President, Diane Newton. Diane Newton presented President Jones with a plaque honoring his service as President.

There being no further business, J. W. Mason moved the meeting be adjourned, Susan Marshall seconded the motion and the meeting was adjourned at 12:00 p.m.

Respectively Submitted,

Jay Jones Secretary-Treasurer