Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers

Hosted by
University of Central Arkansas
Conway, Arkansas
September 27 - 29, 1998
MINUTES

Monday, September 28, 1998

The twenty-second annual meeting of the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers (AACUBO) was convened by President David Moseley at Student Center on the campus of the University of Central Arkansas' campus at 1:00 p.m. The meeting was attended by 121 business officers and associates representing colleges, universities, and other state agencies.

President Moseley introduced Ms. Barbara Goswick, Associate Vice President for Financial Services, University of Central Arkansas, who welcomed the AACUBO conference to the University. Ms. Goswick spoke briefly about the University of Central Arkansas and the many changes taking place on campus.

President Moseley introduced the officers and board members for 1997-98, and then introduced Vice-President, David Martinson, who introduced the program for the day:

Abagnale on Fraud – Frank Abagnale

President Moseley announced committee appointments:

Nominating Resolutions Site Selection

Bobby Jones, Chair David Martinson, Chair Diane Newton, Chair

Gayle Manning Graham Gillis Jay Jones

Mary Kay Dunnaway Barbara Goswick Genelle Newton

During the evening meal at Cadron Valley Country Club, President Moseley announced Cassey Owens of Arkansas State University, Linda Gunderman of Petit Jean College and Susan Marshall of Mid-South Community College as the professional development scholarship winners. Each will receive \$500.00 to help fund attendance at workshops or professional development during the year. President Moseley also called upon representatives of sponsoring institutions to present three Lifetime Membership Awards:

Barbara Goswick, University of Central Arkansas, presented lifetime membership to Robert E. McCormack.

Ed Kremers, Arkansas State University, presented lifetime membership to Sherry Blevin.

AACUBO Annual Conference Minutes Page 2

Byron "Buddy" Rowan, Harding University, presented lifetime membership to Lott Tucker.

Tuesday, September 29, 1998

The Tuesday morning session was held at the Student Center on the University of Central Arkansas campus.

The Honorable Stanley Russ, Senator District 20, addressed the Association. He presented an overview of significant issues in the upcoming legislative session.

Concurrent sessions were held with Clarence Durand from DIS presenting statewide networking and Ann Marie Burns, from KPMG presenting issues on the Hope Scholarships and Lifetime Learning Tax Credits.

At 10:00 a.m., President Moseley called the business meeting to order. Minutes of the last meeting and the financial statement of the Association were presented. A motion was made by Bobby Jones to accept the minutes and financial statements as presented. Motion was seconded by Gay Manning. Motion carried.

The nominating committee chaired by Bobby Jones moved for adoption of the following slate of officers and directors:

Officers 1998-1999

President: David Martinson, University of Arkansas
Vice President: Bobby Jones, Henderson State University
Secretary-Treasurer: Diane Newton, Southern Arkansas University

Directors:

1998-1999 Bruce Andre, John Brown University

Linda Birkner, Petit Jean College

1999-2000 Barbara Goswick, University of Central Arkansas

Susan Marshall, Mid-South Community College

The motion was seconded by Mary Kay Dunnaway. Motion carried.

The Site Selection Committee, chaired by Diane Newton, moved that the site for the 1999 AACUBO conference be at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville. The motion was seconded by Ed Kremers. Motion carried.

The Resolution Committee, chaired by David Martinson, moved the following resolutions be approved:

- 1. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its appreciation to the University of Central Arkansas for hosting the twenty-second annual meeting, and providing superb accommodations and arrangements.
- 2. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its special appreciation to Paul Totten, Barbara Goswick, and Rick McCollum for their efforts in arranging this meeting. Also, a special thanks goes to Glen Stacks for conducting the golf outing.
- 3. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its gratitude to President David Moseley for his leadership and service to the Association.
- 4. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its special thanks to Mr. Frank Abagnale for his presentation on fraud.
- 5. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its special appreciation to State Senator Stanley Russ for his update on legislative issues.
- 6. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its special appreciation to Ms. Ann Marie Burns of KPMG for her presentation on the Hope Scholarship and Lifetime Learning Tax Credits.
- 7. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its special appreciation to Mr. Clarence Durand of the Department of Information Systems for his presentation of Statewide Networking.
- 8. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its special appreciation to The Toy Box for entertainment last night at Cadron Valley Country Club.
- 9. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its special appreciation to the following sponsors:

Super Platinum:

ARAMARK, Inc.

Platinum:

Canteen Services of Arkansas

AACUBO Annual Conference Minutes Page 3

Gold:

Delta Beverage of Little Rock

Chartwells

Silver:

TIAA/CREFF

Arkansas Blue Cross/Blue Shield

Other Sponsors:

River Valley Bank First Arkansas Valley Bank Simmons First Bank

The motion was seconded by Paul Totten. The motion carried.

President Moseley turned the Association leadership over to incoming President, David Martinson. David Martinson presented President Moseley with a plaque honoring his service as President.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 11:05 a.m.

Respectively Submitted,

Bobby G. Jones Secretary-Treasurer