## **Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers**

## 29<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting September 18-20, 2005 Southern Arkansas University - Magnolia

## Monday, September 19, 2005

President Mark Davis convened the twenty-ninth annual meeting of the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers (AACUBO) at the Reynolds Center on the campus of the Southern Arkansas University, Magnolia.

## Tuesday, September 20, 2005

At 11:25 a.m., President Davis called the annual business meeting to order. The minutes from the last meeting were presented and approved with a motion made by Roger Giles with a second by Paul McLendon. The treasurer's report for September 18, 2005 was then presented and a motion was made by Darrell Morrison with a second by Roger Giles to approve this report. Both motions carried.

The audit committee report was given by chair, Paul McLendon. No findings were reported.

The site committee, composed of chair Lisa Gunderman, Mary Kay Dunaway, and Donna Scalan announced that the annual meeting for years 2006 and 2007 would be held in conjunction with the SACUBO Fall Drive-in workshop to be held in Little Rock, AR. President Mark Davis presented the logistics of carving out a time during the drive-in workshop to hold the annual business meeting. The logistics of hosting the Sunday night reception is also being worked through with SACUBO.

The Resolution Committee composed of chair Tom Perry, Richard Stipe, and Donna Scanlan, offered the following resolutions:

- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends it grateful appreciation to Roger Giles, the administration, and the staff of Southern Arkansas University for hosting the twenty-ninth annual meeting of the Association and providing outstanding facilities and accommodations.
- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends it grateful appreciation to Mayor Lane Jean, the Magnolia Chamber of Commerce, and the many fine businesses of Magnolia for their gracious hospitality and support of the 2005 meeting.

- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University
  Business Officers extends its grateful appreciation to President Mark Davis for his
  leadership and to all of the 2004-05 officers and directors for their service to the
  Association.
- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its grateful appreciation to the following persons for their excellent presentations at the 2005 meeting: Paul Vitale, Dr. Claire Stinson, Steve Floyd, Dr. Karen Wheeler, Carey Smith, Ron Adams, Jeff Jackson, and Bobby Hoyle.
- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its grateful appreciation to the following corporate sponsors of the 2005 meeting: Aramark, Bank of New York, FACTS Management, Bank of America, Thomas and Thomas, CPA; Unit Structures, LLC; and SACUBO.
- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its appreciation to the Southern Arkansas University choral ensemble, Encore, for their excellent entertainment at the Monday evening banquet.

The Nominating Committee, composed of chair Debbie Gasaway, Karen Weaver and Donna Scalan, presented the following slate of officers and directors:

President: Ron Jenkins, UACCB

President-Elect: Tom Perry, JBU

Secretary-Treasurer: Paul McLendon, UCA

Past President: Mark Davis, UA Monticello

Members at Large: 2006 Kaye Burley, SAU - Magnolia

2006 Waynna Dockins, ASUMH

2006-07 Lathan Hairston, UA Monticello 2006-07 Lisa Gunderman, UA Morrilton

After no further nominations from the floor, Tom Dorre moved to accept the slate of officers and directors and this motion was seconded by Paul McLendon. The motion carried.

Recognition was given to Shawana Reed as the 2005 recipient of an AACUBO \$500 scholarship. The scholarship was awarded Monday night at the evening banquet.

Members were issued a reminder regarding the evaluation forms and well as the CPE credit sponsored by ASU.

President Davis called for any old business.

President Davis called for any new business.

Kaye Burley made a motion from the floor that AACUBO donate \$1,000 toward Katrina relief to the American Red Cross. Tom Perry seconded the motion. Both motions carried.

Mark Davis, as out-going president, presented the engraved gavel set to Ron Jenkins, incoming president.

Ron Jenkins presented Mark Davis a plaque of appreciation for his service to AACUBO. President Jenkins then adjourned the meeting