## **Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers**

## 28<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting September 19-21, 2004 Arkansas State University - Jonesboro

## Monday, September 20, 2004

President Russ Hannah convened the twenty-eighth annual meeting of the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers (AACUBO) at the Convocation Center on the campus of the Arkansas State University, Jonesboro. Those in attendance included 131 business officers and associates and 2 lifetime members. The attendees represented 33 colleges, universities and other state agencies.

## Tuesday, September 21, 2004

At 11:25 a.m., President Hannah called the annual business meeting to order. The minutes from the last meeting were presented and approved with a motion made by J.W. Mason with a second by Susan Marshall. The treasurer's report for September 19, 2004 was then presented and a motion was made by Lyndle McCurley with a second by JW Mason to approve this report. Both motions carried.

The audit committee composed of chair Tom Perry, Debbie Gasaway, and Lisa Gunderman, report was distributed. A motion by Lyndle McCurley to accept with a second by Ron Jenkins approved this report. Both motions carried.

The bylaw committee, composed of chair Ron Jenkins, Lathan Hairston and Ken Reuter offered the changes to the bylaws. With no further discussion, a motion to accept the changes was made by Rodney Showalter with a second by Lyndle McCurley. The motion carried.

The site committee, composed of chair Ron Jenkins, Debbie Gasaway, and Judy Reed offered the following to accept Southern Arkansas University's invitation at the September, 2003 annual meeting to host the 2005 annual meeting. There was also a pending request from University of Central Arkansas to host the 2006 meeting.

The Resolution Committee composed of chair Kaye Burley, Diane Newton, and JaNan Abernathy, offered the following resolutions:

- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends it grateful appreciation to the administration and staff of Arkansas State University Jonesboro hosting the twenty-eighth annual meeting of the Association and providing outstanding facilities and accommodations.
- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its grateful appreciation to President Russ Hannah for

his leadership and to all of the 2003-04 officers and directors for their service to the Association.

- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its grateful appreciation to the following persons for their excellent presentations at the 2004 meeting: Gary Minor, Dr. Mark Taylor, Bradford Phelps, Jay Morley, Mitzi Ferguson, and Jeff Hankins.
- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its grateful appreciation to the following corporate sponsors of the 2004 meeting: Stephens, Inc.; Bank of America; FACTS Management; Sodexho; Friday, Eldridge & Clark, Attorneys at Law; Thomas and Thomas, CPA; Crews & Associates; Aramark; Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Arkansas; Regions Bank; TME, Inc.; NACUBO; SACUBO; Bank of New York; Pepsi, Inc.; Jonesboro Regional Chamber of Commerce; and TIAA-CREF.
- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its appreciation to the Arkansas State University Choir for their excellent entertainment at the Monday evening banquet.

The motion to accept these resolutions was made by Lyndle McCurley and seconded by Tom Dorre. The motion carried.

The Nominating Committee, composed of chair Loretta Williams and Ron Jenkins, presented the following slate of officers and directors:

President: Mark Davis, UAM
President-Elect: Ron Jenkins, UACCB
Secretary-Treasurer: Tom Perry, JBU
Past President: Russ Hannah, ASU

Members at Large: Waynna Dockins, ASUMH

Loretta Williams, Black River Technical College

Paul McClendon, UCA Kaye Burley, SAU

After no further nominations from the floor, Tom Dorre moved to accept the slate of officers and directors and this motion was seconded by JW Mason. The motion carried.

Members were issued a reminder regarding the evaluation forms and well as the CPE credit sponsored by ASU.

Russ Hannah, as out-going president, presented an engraved gavel set to AACUBO.

Mark Davis presented Russ Hannah a plaque of appreciation for his service to AACUBO. President Davis then adjourned the meeting.