Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers

27th Annual Meeting September 21-23, 2003 University of Arkansas at Fort Smith

Monday, September 22, 2003

President Barbara Goswick convened the twenty-seventh annual meeting of the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers (AACUBO) at the Smith-Pendergraft Campus Center on the campus of the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith. Those in attendance included 129 business officers and associates and 2 lifetime members. The attendees represented 35 colleges, universities and other state agencies.

Tuesday, September 23, 2003

At 11:45 a.m., President Goswick called the annual business meeting to order. The minutes from the last meeting were presented and approved. The treasurer's report for September 22, 2002 was then presented and a motion was made by Ron Jenkins with a second by Mark Davis to approve this report. These motions carried.

The Site Selection Committee, chaired by Russ Hannah with members Sharon Been and Eric Davis, made the recommendation that an invitation from Arkansas State University be accepted for the 2004 annual meeting, and an invitation from Southern Arkansas University be accepted for the 2005 annual meeting. Russ Hannah made the motion to accept these invitations, and Bobby Jones seconded it. The motion carried.

The Resolution Committee, composed of chair Roger Coomer, Dale Garner, and Jim Hashbarger, offered the following resolutions:

- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University
 Business Officers extends it grateful appreciation to the administration and staff
 of the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith for hosting the twenty-seventh annual
 meeting of the Association and providing outstanding facilities and
 accommodations.
- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its grateful appreciation to President Barbara Goswick for her leadership and to all of the 2002-03 officers and directors for their service to the Association.
- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its grateful appreciation to the following persons for their excellent presentations at the 2003 meeting: Stuart Robertshaw, Dr. Jerry

Farley, Micki Voelkel, Dr. Mary Fischer, Eric Davis, Joe Healy, Mike Shepherd, Cassandra McCuin Smith, and Connie Oberg.

- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University
 Business Officers extends its grateful appreciation to the following corporate
 sponsors of the 2003 meeting: Bank of America, FACTS Tuition Management,
 University of Arkansas at Fort Smith Dining Services, Today's Office, US
 Bank, and Tinsley, Mullins Engineers Inc.
- Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its appreciation to the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith vocal jazz band for their excellent entertainment at the Monday evening banquet.

The motion to accept these resolutions was made by Gaye Manning and seconded by Mark Davis. The motion carried.

The Nominating Committee, composed of chair Ron Jenkins, Jennus Burton, and Polly Parnell, presented the following slate of officers and directors:

President: Russ Hannah, ASU
President-Elect: Mark Davis, UAM
Secretary-Treasurer: Eric Davis, OBU

2002-03 Directors: Ron Jenkins, UACCB

Kaye Burley, SAU

2003-05 Directors: Tom Perry, JBU

Loretta Williams, Black River Technical College

After no further nominations from the floor, Ron Jenkins moved to accept the slate of officers and directors and was seconded by Paul McLendon. The motion carried.

Members were then informed about the following:

- The GASB 39 drive-in workshop AACUBO hosted in conjunction with SACUBO netted \$4,697 which was split equally between AACUBO and SACUBO.
- Based on the success of the GASB 39 workshop the board is exploring the possibility of hosting a drive-in workshop annually in the April-May timeframe.
- The AACUBO website is up and running thanks to the efforts of Gina Fielder of UALR, Diane Newton, and Ron Jenkins.
- Reminder was made about CPE credit sponsored by ASU.

Russ Hannah presented Barbara Goswick a plaque of appreciation for her service to AACUBO. President Hannah then adjourned the meeting.