Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers

21st Annual Meeting September 29-30, 1997 University of the Ozarks - Clarksville

Monday, September 29, 1997

The twenty-first annual meeting of the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers (AACUBO) was convened by President Darrell Williams at the Walton Fine Arts Center on the University of the Ozarks campus at 1:00 p.m. The meeting was attended by 92 business officers and associates representing colleges, universities and other state agencies.

President Williams introduced Dr. Rick Niece, President, University of the Ozarks, who welcomed the AACUBO Conference to the University. Dr. Niece spoke briefly about the history of the institution, the many changes in the physical facilities in the past two years, and goals for the future.

President Williams introduced officers and board members for 1996-97, and then introduced Vice President, David Moseley, who introduced the program sessions for the day:

Utility Deregulations	Jim Martindale – Entergy Corporation
Technology Issues Panel Discussion	Tom Dorre – UAF
	Ray West – JBU
	Earl McGehee – UCA

President Williams announced committee appointments:

Nominating	<u>Resolutions</u>	Site Selection
Diane Newton, Chair	Bobby Jones, Chair	Lisa Hill, Chair
Lathan Hairston	Paul Totten	Buddy Rowan
Susan Marshall	Jim Smith	Genelle Newton

During the evening picnic at Big Danger Mountain on the Arkansas River, President Williams announced Thomas Perry of John Brown University and Carolyn Douglas of Arkansas State University as the professional development scholarship winners. Each will receive \$250 to help fund attendance at workshops during the year. President Williams also called upon representatives of sponsoring institutions to present three Lifetime Membership awards:

- J. W. Mason, Arkansas State University, presented lifetime membership to Stanley Williams, and accepted on his behalf.
- David Moseley, Arkansas Tech University, presented lifetime membership to Joyce Newson.

• Darrell Williams, University of the Ozarks, presented lifetime membership to bob Jordan.

Tuesday, September 30, 1997

The Tuesday morning session was held at the Seay Student Center on the University of the Ozarks campus.

The Honorable M. Olin Cook, Representative District 30, addressed the Association. He presented an overview of significant issues from the 81^{st} Session of the General Assembly and what he anticipates will be defining issues for the 82^{nd} Session.

Sessions were held separately by the private and public schools to discuss current issues.

At 10:00 a.m., President Williams called the business meeting to order. Minutes of the last meeting and the financial statement of the Association were presented. A motion was made by Tom Dorre to accept the minutes and financial statement as presented. Motion was seconded by Buddy Rowan. Motion carried.

The Nominating Committee, chaired by Diane Newton, moved for adoption of the following slate of officers and directors:

<u>Officers 1997-98</u>	
President:	David Moseley, Arkansas Tech University
Vice President:	David Martinson, University of Arkansas
Secretary-Treasurer:	Bobby Jones, Henderson State University
Past President:	Darrell Williams, University of the Ozarks
Directors	
1996-98	Lisa Hill, Ouachita Baptist University
	Diane Newton, Southern Arkansas University
1997-99	Linda Birkner, Petit Jean Technical College Bruce Andre, John Brown University

The motion was seconded by Jerry Carlisle. Motion carried.

The Site Selection Committee, chaired by Lisa Hill, moved that the site for the 1998 AACUBO conference be held at the University of Central Arkansas in Conway. The motion was seconded by Joe Franz. Motion carried.

The Resolution Committee, chaired by Bobby Jones, moved the following resolutions be approved:

1. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its appreciation to the University of the Ozarks for hosting the twenty-first annual meeting, and providing superb accommodations and arrangements.

- 2. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its special appreciation to Debbie Williams, Karen Schulterman, Dawn Buckmaster, Jeanett Willis, Jewell Self, and Tom Willis for their efforts in arranging for this meeting. And a special thanks to Dr. Fritz Ehren for conducting the golf outing.
- 3. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its gratitude to President Darrell Williams for his leadership and service to the Association.
- 4. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its special appreciation to Mr. Jim Martindale for his presentation on Utility Deregulation.
- 5. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its special appreciation to Mr. Tom Dorre, Mr. Ray West, and Mr. Earl McGehee for their presentations and panel discussion on Technology Issues.
- 6. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its special appreciation to The Acoustic Refugees for entertainment last night at Big Danger Mountain.
- 7. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers expresses its special appreciation to the Honorable M. Olin Cook for the update on the 1997 legislative session.
- 8. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its appreciation to the four sponsors listed in the program (Aramark, Blass Chilcote Carter Gaskin Bogart & Norcross, BlueCross BlueShield, NABHOLZ, and TIAA-CREF) and especially to President and Mrs. Rick Niece.

The motion was seconded by Paul Totten. Motion carried.

President Williams turned the Association leadership over to incoming President, David Moseley. David Moseley presented President Williams with a plaque honoring his service as President.

There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 10:05 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

David O. Martinson Secretary-Treasurer