Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers

25th Annual Meeting September 23-25, 2001 University of Arkansas Little Rock Minutes

Monday, September 23, 2001

The twenty-fifth annual meeting of the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers (AACUBO) was convened by President Diane Newton at the Donaghey Student Center on the campus of the University of Arkansas Little Rock at 8:50 a.m. The record attendance included 151 business officers and associates and 3 lifetime members representing 41 colleges, universities, and other state agencies.

The opening session began with a moment of silence in honor of those who lost their lives in the September 11th terrorist attack followed by the Pledge of Allegiance. President Newton then introduced Dr. Charles Hathaway, UALR Chancellor, who welcomed AACUBO attendees to the campus.

President Newton announced the appointment of the following committee chairs: Nominating – Lecia Franklin Resolutions – Russ Hannah Site Selection – Barbara Goswick

Monday's sessions included a seminar by Mary Beth Sudduth, J.D., on "The Legal Impact of Technology on Higher Education", an IRS session, and a motivational session conducted by Leo Presley. During the luncheon, Skip Rutherford spoke to the group about plans to construct the Clinton Presidential Library in Little Rock.

At Monday evening's dinner, AACUBO members were treated to musical entertainment by a group of UALR students, "Studio 101." Joe Garcia, SACUBO's representative to NACUBO, spoke to the group and encouraged them to become involved in both SACUBO and NACUBO activities. Dorethea Yates, Director of Financial Services, University of Arkansas at Little Rock, and Terri Canino, Grant Accountant, University of Central Arkansas, were each presented with a \$500 professional development scholarship. Linda Yeiser and Tom Chapman were inducted as lifetime members. AACUBO Annual Meeting - 2001 Minutes Page 2

Tuesday, September 24, 2001

Sessions included an update on new procurement laws and regulations by the Director of State Procurement, Joe Giddis. Dr. David Bosserman of Oklahoma State University presented an update on GASB 34/35.

At 11:30 a.m. President Newton called the annual business meeting to order. The minutes and treasurer's report from the last annual meeting were presented. A motion was made by Tom Dorre, and seconded by Rodney Showalter, to accept both reports. The motion carried.

The Site Selection Committee, composed of Chair Barbara Goswick, Kaye Burley, and Darrell Williams made the recommendation that invitations from Harding University and Westark College be accepted for the annual meetings in 2002 & 2003, respectively. Barbara Goswick made the motion to accept these invitations. The motion was seconded by Jerry Carlisle and carried.

The Nominating Committee, composed of Chair Lecia Franklin, Cathy Bell and Debbie Gasaway, presented the following slate of officers and directors:

President: President-Elect: Secretary-Treasurer:	Diane Newton, UALR Barbara Goswick, UA System Todd Sheldon, Harding University
2000-02 Directors:	Lecia Franklin, HSU
2001-03 Directors:	Russ Hannah, ASU Roger Coomer, OTC Mark Davis, UAM

After no further nominations from the floor, Lecia Franklin moved to accept the slate of officers, seconded by Bobby Jones. The motion carried.

The Resolution Committee, composed of Chair Russ Hannah, Wyonna Dockins and Mike White, offered the following resolutions:

 Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its sincere condolences and sympathy to the families and friends of those killed or injured in the attacks on the World Trade Center and the Pentagon and in the downing of Flight 93 in Pennsylvania. The Association further extends its deep appreciation of and gratitude to all agencies and persons who, through their work or voluntary efforts, have contributed to the rescue and recovery efforts. AACUBO Annual Meeting - 2001 Minutes Page 3

> Finally, the Association expresses its firm commitment to and strong support of our country and its government at this critical time in our history.

- 2. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its grateful appreciation to the administration and staff of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock for hosting the twenty-fifth annual meeting of the Association and providing excellent accommodations and arrangements.
- 3. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its grateful appreciation to President Diane Newton for her leadership and to all of the 2000-2001 officers and directors for their service to the Association.
- 4. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its grateful appreciation to the following persons for their excellent presentations at the 2001 meeting: Mary Beth Sudduth, Jan Germany, Alice Justus, Skip Rutherford, Leo Presley, Jose Garcia, Joe Giddis, and David Bosserman.
- 5. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its grateful appreciation to the following corporate sponsors of the 2001 meeting:

Super-Platinum:	Chartwells
Platinum:	Bank of America Campus America-Tulsa Dynamic Energy Concepts Steelman Connell Moseley Architects Witsell Evans & Rasco
Gold:	Imspro, Inc. ServiceMaster
Others:	Barnes and Noble Fidelity Investments TIAA-CREF

6. Be it hereby resolved that the Arkansas Association of College and University Business Officers extends its appreciation to "Studio 101" for providing excellent entertainment at the Monday evening banquet. AACUBO Annual Meeting - 2001 Minutes Page 4

The motion to accept these resolutions was made by Russ Hannah and seconded by Ron Jenkins. Motion carried.

Bobby Jones made a motion that the Association send a \$1,000 donation to an appropriate agency to provide assistance to the families of those who lost their lives in the September 11th attack. The Board will determine the recipient agency. His motion included a challenge to other state associations, as well as SACUBO and NACUBO, to also make a donation. The motion was seconded by Jerry Carlisle. Motion carried.

Paul Totten made a motion that the Association of Purchasing Officials, at their October 18th meeting, write a letter to Joe Giddis requesting exemption from sole source procurement contracts for speakers and entertainers, and submit on behalf of all institutions. The motion was seconded by Mark Davis. Motion carried.

Gaye Manning reminded the group about the SACUBO Fall Workshop to be held November 4-6th in Atlanta.

At 11:50 a.m. the twenty-fifth annual meeting was adjourned with a motion by Paul Totten and seconded by Tom Dorre.

Submitted by:

Barbara Goswick 2000-01 Secretary-Treasurer